FENNELL and St. Vincents win Dublin club championships…

CONGRATULATIONS to our favourite GAA client – Eamon Fennell – and all the St Vincent’s team, who have successfully defended their Dublin GAA football title.

Former Dublin midfielder Fennell opened the scoring for his team, as St. Vincent’s went on to win the Dublin SFC final by 0-14 to 1-10 over St Oliver Plunkett’s.

The All-Ireland club champions survived a late comeback from Plunkett’s to retain their Dublin Senior Football Championship title at Parnell Park on Monday night.

It’s the Marino side’s 27th Dublin title in their history, and their first time to retain the title since 1977. They are the first side to retain the title in Dublin since Kilmacud Crokes won two in a row from 2004-2005.

St Vincent’s looked to be cruising to the title as they led by six points – 0-14 to 0-8 – with less than 10 minutes to go at Parnell Park. However, Oliver Plunkett’s, chasing their first ever senior football title, fashioned an improbable comeback in the dying minutes and almost caught their opponents. An Alan Brogan goal alongside points from his brother Bernard and Paraic Lee cut the gap to just one with a couple of minutes remaining, but Vincent’s hung on.

Vincent’s now play Portlaoise in the Leinster club quarter-final.

Scorers: St Vincent’s: G Burke, C Dorney 0-3 each, R Treanor S Carthy 0-2 each, E Fennell, D Connolly, T Quinn (f), Cameron Diamond all 0-1 each. St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh: B Brogan 0-5 (3fs), A Brogan 1-1, G Smith 0-3 (1 ’45’), P Lee 0-1.

St Vincent’s: M Savage; K Bonnie, J Curley, H Gill; B Egan, G Brennan, M Concarr; E Fennell, D Murphy; G Burke, D Connolly, S Carthy; R Treanor, C Dorney, T Quinn. Subs: Cameron Diamond for Murphy (38), T Diamond for Dorney (50), M Loftus for Fennell (50), Cormac Diamond for Carthy (55).

St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh: A O’Mara; D Kelly, R O’Connor, E Clarke; J Brogan, D Lally, C Walsh; P Brogan, C Dunleavey; S Lyons, D Brogan, A Brogan; N Walsh, B Brogan, G Smith. Subs: R McConnell for P Brogan (26), P Brogan for D Brogan (43), P Lee for Lyons (46), P McNulty for Dunleavy (52), D Matthews for Walsh (55).